Telstra Art Awards

There’s a virtual exhibition! Enjoy.

3 responses to “Telstra Art Awards

  1. Wonderful! My personal favourites are this one and this one.

  2. Dear Claire, the artwork is amazing.
    As I see, you are an expert in the Tribe of Bardi.
    Do you think you could help me? I am working on a project, where i need only two words to be translated into Bardi language.
    In case you could help me, please email me and i give you more information. (the movie I am doing a design for is not published yet, and it is not my property)
    Thanks in advance

  3. Henrietta, I’d suggest you contact the One Arm Point school about translations like this. Bardi people, like many Aboriginal groups, are pretty sick of researchers and film crews and musicians and others using snippets of language and culture to reinforce existing ideas of “exoticism” for Indigenous groups. (I don’t know anything about your project so I don’t know how you’re going to use the materials so apologies if this doesn’t apply in this case.) I’ve said I wouldn’t answer queries like this without checking first. The office number is 08 9192 4932 and they can put you in touch with the relevant people to ask.

Leave a Reply

