Language of the week: the Niger-Congo language Basque

No comment except to thank Glossographia for the link.

8 responses to “Language of the week: the Niger-Congo language Basque

  1. Thanks! The link came from Mark at The Ideophone in a comment on my post. I recently inherited a bunch of unusual offprints dealing with hyperdiffusionistic linguistic theories, and plan to make a little series of posts on the general issues (and I suppose Ruhlen will need to be discussed at some point also).

  2. Good God. I was thinking “Wow, this guy put a lot of work into this joke!” and having myself a good chuckle (much needed, since I have a bad cold and a tough editing job)… and then I did a little googling and discovered the guy was serious. Now I’m afraid to leave the house. There’s too much crazy out there.

  3. There’s something about the surname Dunn and long-range bogolinguistics. Take a look at “Proto-Tsimshian: A New World Indo-European Language” here:http://faculty-staff.ou.edu/D/John.A.Dunn-1/index.htm. A relative, perhaps? (From the less-accomplished side of the family, if so — this theory completely fails to invoke Basque, Hungarian, OR Sumerian!)

    Perhaps both GJK Dunn and John A Dunn were trained at one of those mad Benedictine monasteries of Edo Nyland’s…

  4. Don’t knock Edo Nyland, he has provided me with a great prehistory assignment for my students. On the other hand, there may well be opportunities for variation on this theme..

  5. David Marjanović

    Now I’m afraid to leave the house. There’s too much crazy out there.

    I gather you’ve never seen a creationist website? Their arguments rise at most to the facepalm-inducing comparison of ne and ez (“loss of initial n- and addition of a prefix”).

  6. David Marjanović

    …suffix, whatever.

  7. “…Edo Nyland, he has provided me with a great prehistory assignment for my students.”

    Okay, enough suspense: share plz!

  8. Indeed, I found out somewhere last year that Basque had been linked to Siwu (Akpafu), the undocumented language I’m working on. Campbell-Dunn used to have a website where he presented his books and theories; now there is only this Google cached ‘about’ page where you can see his credentials.

Leave a Reply

