Praat and Sendpraat on a mac

another public service announcement: I had to recompile sendpraat to get Elan to recognise it. If you’re using Elan 3.6. on an intel mac and are having problems with Elan and Praat talking to each other, let me know and I can send you the file.

11 responses to “Praat and Sendpraat on a mac

  1. hi,

    I’m also using this nice combination of ELAN and Praat. But I’ve give up to find out how sendpraat works. Maybe you can send me your compiled version? That would be so great :-) I’m using ELAN 3.6.0 and OS 10.5.6 on an Intel-Mac …

    thx a lot, Matthias

  2. Hi Matthias, send me an email and I’ll send you the compiled version. Also, if there are spaces anywhere in your file names that can cause it not to work.
    Claire

  3. Hi Claire,

    I am in the same situation as Matthias and woudl like to receive the version of sendpraat for mac you compiled. Do you think it will work with Elan 3.7 too? I am using an Intel-mac with 10.4.11.

    Thank you

    Anna

    • Hi Claire,

      I’m in the same situation too – my attempts to recompile the script end up in errors just now so I figure a ready-fixed copy would help a great deal!

      Thanks in advance,

      – Andrew

  4. Hi,
    I’ve got the same problem as the Matthias, Claire, Anna and Andrew. Can’t get ELAN to open a selected sequence in Praat on an Intel Mac. Could you please send me the compiled file?
    Thank you!

  5. Josef Fruehwald

    Hi,

    I’ve got the same problem as the rest with Elan and Praat talking to eachother. If you could send me the solution, I’d be very grateful!

    -Joe

  6. Hi Claire,

    I am working with ELAN 4.0.0 on a Mac OS X 10.5.8, 2.66 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo and have problems with sendpraat.
    Could you please send me your solution?
    THANK YOU very much, Christian

  7. Hi Claire,

    I would like to try a copy of your compilation of sendpraat too! I’m using elan 4.0.0 and OS version 10.6.6

  8. Hi Claire,
    I have exactly the same problem getting ELAN and Praat communicating with each other. I’m using ELAN 4.0.0 and OS 10.5.8 (and 10.6.6 on another mac).
    Could you send me your file(s) of sendpraat, too?
    Many thanks in advance!
    Is there a specific folder where sendpraat should be put in?
    Best, Kathrin

  9. here’s a link to the file. It should go in the same direction as the praat application (I don’t think it’s crucial, but it does make it easier to find when you’re asked for its location).

  10. Pingback: Elan and Sendpraat redux | Anggarrgoon

Leave a Reply

