Gurrumul

I couldn’t get a ticket to my dhuway Gurrumul’s concert in Canberra, but I did buy his CD. It’s great. All the reviewers talk about the etherial and spiritual nature of the music. But that’s missing so much. You need to know Dhuwala to really get it. Here’s one example. In one song he’s calling out the Ḻikanbuy ancestor names (at least, that’s what I assume they are, they aren’t names I know but they have exactly that structure). He says Ŋarrandja dhuwala XXXI‘m this X’, but in doing so he’s quoting the tune I come from a land down-under. It’s a great piece of intertextuality. 

Leave a Reply

