These meetings only happen in remote schools

So … I’m sitting in the school staff room this morning with a cuppa, minding my own business and coding xml. A woman comes in looking for a copy of the Bardi dictionary. Not completely unusual, except she mentions she’s an ANU researcher. Me too! I say (I’m a visiting fellow there). The high school teacher who’s there at the table next to me says “I’m not, but I’ve got a degree in anthropology”. Turns out that the woman is Sue O’Connor, ANU Arch and Anth person, and it further turns out that the teacher has been doing plant identification.

5 responses to “These meetings only happen in remote schools

  1. It’s a small world out there in the bush. You can hardly swing a microphone without hitting an anthropologist, ethnomusicologist, ethnobotanist, or what have you nowadays.

  2. I posted and just recalled being in the field visiting with a friend at his carving workshop when in comes a senior undergrad from U. Penn looking for informants for her ethnomedical interviews. I helped her out and then the next person she ran into was an anthropologist doing some sort of research on ethnobiology.

  3. That reminds me of a joke I heard at AILDI once that would work equally well for linguistics.

    How do you know you’re Navajo? There’s an anthropologist living with your family.

  4. Peter K. Austin

    Actually, there’s an even older joke:

    Describe the average Navajo family.

    Mum, dad, two kids and an anthropologist.

  5. Just… your phrasing reminds me of Roy Ayers’ Poo Poo La La.

Leave a Reply

