Field plans (2)

I started to list my plans for the coming weeks and got as far as the SA Museum archives.

I’m going to Milingimbi after that, for a month of work on Yan-nhaŋu. I have a bunch of plans. In no particular order, this is what I have in mind to get done either this time or the next trip:

  • static palatography for a bunch of contrasts
  • a perception experiment on stop length vs voicing contrasts (Jane has raised hearing problems as a potential confounding variable, though)
  • Lexicon expansion (I’m thinking about using SIL’s dictionary development work, and I have a copy of an Oxford Picture Dictionary) – there’s a bit of a lack of ‘modern’ vocab in the dictionary, although there are clearly words for all these things, and previous work has focussed on documenting ‘traditional’ culture.
  • Dictionary entry corrections. The dictionary’s now at about 3000 words, and 500 entries have queries of some sort.
  • Learner’s guide approval. This hopefully won’t take all that long, since most of it was done on the last trip. I want to finalise the text as much as possible and check that it’s still ok to publish it, then send it off to a publisher shortly after the end of the trip.
  • Checking transcripts from last time.
  • Sociolinguistic interviews about Yolŋu language use.
  • A few more syntax topics that I didn’t get a chance to work on much in the previous two trips.
  • Cartoon gesture data collection (with Amy Frankin, a post doc at Rice)
  • Conversation data?

I’ve never done elicitation work for more than 4 hours a day (that was towards the end of my last Bardi field trip) so it’ll be interesting to see how much of this gets done.

Leave a Reply

