I’m around…

but I’m leaving for Australia (and Canberra, then ALS, then the field) on Saturday. Last time I did this, I think I was posting daily updates on the length of my to-do list. This time it’s been hovering steady at between 40 and 70 items at any one time. A big item, viz, my fieldwork book proofs, got crossed off this afternoon. Just as well, since there’s a tropical storm headed directly for Houston and we’re being forecasted up to 15 inches of rain in some areas (average 5-10). Emailing proof corrections to India is problematic with no power. I haven’t done the research to see if tropical storms produce the same sort of panic buying as hurricanes do (since I still have all the water and stuff I bought for Hurricane Rita, and a fridge of food to eat before going to Australia for 6 weeks!). This won’t be nearly as bad as Tropical Storm Kumanytyayi (in 2001), although Houston is quite good at floods. Last week’s 1.5 inches of rain was enough to turn my street into a river, and provided some entertainment watching cars play chicken in the water. The birds are pretty unhappy, though – I’ve had 2 fly into my windows in the last hour, compared to the same number in the last 18 months.

Leave a Reply

