What I’ve been up to

Haven’t been online much – I’ve been having too much fun at ANU (and internet charges are determined by the amount you download so that’s curtailed my web habit a bit). I’m a Visiting Fellow at ANU and they’ve lent me an office, so I’ve been catching up with everyone and generally enjoying the chance to wander into the next office to ask what Maric or Arandic or Gamilaraay does.

I went to a talk by Nungarrayi and Jangala (+ Nick Peterson and Georgia Curren) on Warlpiri song music the other day. It was a lot of fun, with tapes, maps, photos, and live demonstrations and explanation. It’s a very different style of singing from what I’m used to with Bardi.

Anyone heard of a five minute snake? It’s probably deadly, it’s from Northern Australia, it’s 1960s slang and it’s not on google.

Leave a Reply

