Jabref, bibtex and Word

Here’s a page which might be useful to people who swap between Word and LaTeX for writing documents and who prefer to keep all their references in BiBTeX. It describes (and provides links to) a macro which will allow you to insert citation information stored in Jabref. (I haven’t tried it yet but assuming it works, it’s exactly what I’ve been looking for.)

5 responses to “Jabref, bibtex and Word

  1. I tried that last week when someone was asking me about alternatives to EndNote, and it seems to work pretty well.

    Have you tried cb2Bib, out of curiousity? It’s supposed to be “a tool for rapidly extracting unformatted, or unstandardized biblographic references from email alerts, journal Web pages, and PDF files” – just curious whether it’s any good.

    http://www.molspaces.com/d_cb2bib-overview.php

  2. Never heard of it. Looks interesting, though. I’ll try it out when I get the jabref thing working (something isn’t straightforward with one of the path commands by the look of it).

  3. To my delight a roving linguist demonstrated LaTeX to me for the first time the other week. I was very impressed but I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not nerdy enough to be able to cope with it in the long term. (Trust me – with all the best advice in the world I can’t even work out how to customise OpenOffice such that unicode shortcuts are the same as for Microsoft Word.)

    I’m considering using InDesign CS2 which is pretty much the industry standard in the Australian publishing scene. Leading and kerning can be automated or adjusted manually to the extent that you can even kern two consecutive letters and leave the rest or a para as it is. Index tagging and generating is a breeze, and unlike LaTeX you can throw images in wherever you want. It’s also relatively easy to use and there’s no fiddling around with coded commands.
    Some objections:
    – I don’t know if there is any function in InDesign that is analogous to EndNote or BibTeX.
    – Raw files use a lot of memory
    – In earlier versions of InDesign there was no uber-find command. Ie, you could only search for a term within whatever text body the cursor happened to be positioned. This was annoying but may have been addressed in CS2

    Can anyone talk me out of casting in my lot with InDesign? Please do!

  4. I don’t know must about InDesign, but I’d be wary about it if you can’t export to Word or rtf. If your collaborators use InDesign (or a compatible format) and if you don’t submit articles to journals that require copy in Word, it probably doesn’t matter what you choose. The objections you list sound fairly serious to me – for example one of the big pluses of LaTeX over Word is the index generation and the fact that it works on text files (so if you don’t mind reading raw code it’s very portable – I can write raw latex code on my PDA but pocket word does a lot of weird things to word files). Another thing you could try is scientific word. It’s a wysiwyg front end to latex. There are a few others like this too, although they are all slipping my mind.. .. BaKoMa is another one.

  5. I developed a add-in for word 2007 that allows to import/export references in bibtex, RIS, Endnote, etc. It also has a functionality that allows you to import articles directly from websites such nature, ingenta, amazon, etc. Checkout complete detail over here http://ragrawal.wordpress.com/2009/03/07/releasing-reference-manager-beta-for-word-2007/

Leave a Reply

