Two very exciting things

Two pieces of news. First, those of you who were here last year when I was publishing daily totals of my to-do list (it was on the blogs.rice.edu site, which is now semi-permanently down) may remember my delight when the number of things to do dropped below 100. Well, it’s now dropped below 50 for the first time since I finished my PhD! It’s kind of a surrogate blood pressure gauge. Too low and it’s a sign you’re dead, but too high and it’s a sign of ill-health. So either it’s all downhill from here, or …
Second, bigger piece of news is that I now have a formal offer of publication for my field methods book, which I’m very pleased about. It’ll be out some time in the second half of next year. A big big thanks to a reviewer who gave me an incredibly detailed review and lots of comments. It must have taken a huge amount of time and I’m very grateful they took that time!

4 responses to “Two very exciting things

  1. Congratulations on the book, Claire!

  2. Well done Claire, can’t wait to see the book. Congrats also on the under half-century. I’m sure you’ll think of a few things yet to stop the level getting too low.

  3. W00t (as the kids say these days)! Hearty congratulations, and may your to-do list stay within the proper zone! (Me, I just have a vague awareness of “stuff to do” and a vague sense that it will probably all get done somehow. Mostly. Sort of.)

  4. Thanks! I used to work on the principle of “if I don’t remember needing to do it, it probably wasn’t important”, but unfortunately that no longer applies.

Leave a Reply

